The First Setback

Well after one week of eating protein and waving weights around I stepped onto the scales feeling very self righteous and in gleeful anticipation of a huge loss of pounds, only to discover that, not only had I lost nothing, I’d put on 500g! What’s happening? Should I throw in the towel now and blame Tamoxifen? It seems to me that I’ve put in enough effort to enter a body building contest by now!

However, before conceding defeat, I turned to the all knowing Google-Sensei and consulted the online pundits. It seems that gaining weight when starting a workout program, especially a resistance program, often results in weight gain.1  

A new exercise regimen puts stress on your muscle fibers. This causes small micro tears, also known as micro trauma, and some inflammation. Those two conditions in your muscle fibers are the reason you may gain some weight.

Your body responds to the micro tears and inflammation in two ways that cause temporary water weight gain.

Well, phew! So I’ll keep going! Whatever happens, exercise and healthy eating can only be good for me.

I also found a helpful article by a woman who transformed her body in 12 weeks and a week by week breakdown of her emotional state.2

Week 1: “Excitement and anticipation.” Absolutely. I am fascinated to see what I can do in 13 weeks. My confidence that I can make any difference see-saws back and forth, but today I’m feeling optimistic.

Week 2: That’s this week! “The desire for some sign of progress.” Yes please! Some weight loss and some evidence of muscle gain would be a nice return for all my work!

Scale image by Peter_w

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The First Setback

Leave a Reply

