Accountability

subiendo-1430477-638x426.jpg

One thing I realised when I started this blog is that I do better with some accountability. Knowing there is someone waiting for me to check in once a week or everyday keeps me on track with all sorts of things.

Now, you can pay someone a not insubstantial amount of money to ping you every so often to make sure you’re on track and suggest a workout for you that you could figure out yourself after reading a few copies of Oxygen magazine, but there are 7 billion people in the world and a few of those are generous enough to offer to be an accountability buddy for free.

So I mozzied on over to reddit and sent out an appeal for a buddy and a lovely young girl, on the other side of the planet, has been checking up on me via snapchat for the last two weeks. I send her pictures of what I’m eating, ‘fess up when I eat something bad, boast when I resist temptation and send photos of my workout gear. She does the same. She even helped me pick out my new workout tights.

On top of that, I have this blog. The combination of the two has prevented many a calorie from entering my mouth!

Now to the weigh in. Sadly, after two weeks of enthusiastic clean eating and free weights I have lost a total of 200g! I continue to cling to the wisdom of the pundits who say that this newbie weight plateau can last upto 6 weeks! Please, no!

According to Women’s Health Magazine1, I should now be wondering if I’m doing the right thing? Well, am I? Should I reduce carbs even more? Give up my daily banana! I don’t think I can. WHM assures me that external changes will me minimal at this stage, so I’ll just hang in there.

Weight: 58.4kg

Photo Antonio Jiménez Alonso

5 thoughts on “Accountability

  1. deanneseverest October 11, 2016 / 10:57 am

    I was successful at losing 9 kg in my first 6 months on Tamoxifen. My tactics diet wise were NOT to calorie count. Instead I focused on permanent changes to improve nutrition. Put simply I only ate foods that I liked that were nutrient dense. I never felt hungry or deprived and never actually thought I was dieting just making better food choices for my health.My weight has been stable for 3 years now. Good luck with your experiment. 😊

    Like

    • chibipink October 11, 2016 / 11:00 am

      Thanks for the words of encouragement, and thanks for being the first to comment on my blog.

      Like

  2. Cath October 11, 2016 / 10:14 pm

    Hi Chibipink, I’m also doing my own thing diet & exercise wise and am using an app called myfitnesspal to track calories, exercise . Been on tamoxifen almost 3 months. All the best, will be cheering you on!!! Go girl!!! Xx Cath (socoda on Bcna).

    Like

    • chibipink October 12, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      Thanks for the support! :)I hope both our efforts succeed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

