The Diet

perfect figure

Well, another week of being hungry and waving weights around and I got a bit frayed around the edges, ate a pile of things I shouldn’t have, and lost a grand total of 100g! Yep! Six of weeks of hard work and I’ve lost a total of 1kg.

So I’ve finally faced facts and decided to ditch my daily banana and replace it with an egg. So, here it is… the diet.

Breakfast

1 scoop of whey powder with 1/2 tsp of malted milk powder (can’t drink it otherwise).
1 boiled egg.
1 peanut butter/oat bar made according to this recipe.

Lunch

200ml of my homemade bone broth.
The thinnest slice I can manage to cut of fantastic Mylor Bakery sprouted rye bread.
100g of chicken breast.
Salad vegies (tomatoes, cucumber etc.)
A teeny splish of olive oil and balsamic.
15 almonds and a prune.

Dinner

100g of lean meat
5g butter
1 tsp of olive oil
75g sweet potato
50 Calories worth of other vegetables.
1/3 punnet of strawberries
3 tsp of  low fat cream.

Which, according to my calculations, comes out at 31% carbs, 45% protein and 24% fat. 1230 calories. Which puts me pretty close to the ratios the bodybuilding / fat burning pundits recommend. Its also less than 100g of a carbs a day; also recommended for fat loss. I’ve never eaten so little carbs and so much protein. It doesn’t look like my idea of a healthy diet, so hopefully I won’t have to be on if for long.

You may notice that I only eat three times a day. In the past the received wisdom has been that you need to eat 6 times a day to keep your metabolism going. Not only has this assumption been debunked, but its now been realised that eating that way keeps your insulin levels constantly high, but from my point of view, it’s just nice to have three times in the day where I feel lovely and full and not worried about when I can eat next.

I also don’t eat breakfast until 10am, because I find that once I start eating, I start getting hungry, so best to put that off for as long as possible. Some people call that 14:10 fasting, but I call it “the way I eat.”

So there we are. That’s the diet with the “impressive” track record of causing me to lose a whole 1kg in six weeks. I now wish I’d recorded some other data like body fat and hip measurement, because changes are evident, just not on the scale.

I’m about to start week 7 of my girl vs tamoxifen journey and, according to Women’s Health Magazine1, this week I should be wondering if I’m doing the most effective things to change my body. Well, clearly I am wondering that, because I nixed the ‘nana. This week I’ll consult the online pundits about my workouts and get back to you with my revamped workout routine.

weight 57.6

Apple image Justine FG

 

2 thoughts on “The Diet

Leave a Reply

