Christmas Post Mortem

christmas-objects-1443971-640x480.jpg

Well the silly season is over and, I suppose inevitably, I gained 400g. That’s disappointing, but I think I can get it off again pretty quickly.

After the Christmas Day Orgy of Eating I had a lot of trouble stopping on Boxing Day. My body knew there was sugar out there and it wanted it, so I made a resolution to snapchat my accountability buddy whenever I ate something sweet and that stopped the sugar gobbling monster in its tracks, but every day between Christmas and New Years required us to catch up with friends and family and every meeting required us to eat. In between I tried to stick to my diet, and took over cooking from my mother (we were staying at my parents) to ensure healthy dinners, but little by little my determination was undermined by the sea of sugar and the constant image of others eating so that, by New Year’s Day, I was idly snacking on sweets again, and, due to all sorts of excuses, I only exercised on three days. Matters were not helped by having no bathroom scales.

So I could have done better, but it could have been worse, and now I have to work hard to get back to where I was.

Christmas Bell image by Robicu Anaski

2 thoughts on “Christmas Post Mortem

  1. Kate Daniel January 10, 2017 / 5:17 pm

    Reading your blog with great interest. I’m 52 and two years on Tamoxifen – ridiculously I’ve only just noticed that my shape has entirely changed even though my habits haven’t. A new way of thinking is required and I hope I can find some deep reserves of will power. Good luck to us both.

    Like

  2. chibipink January 11, 2017 / 10:19 am

    I’m glad your enjoying my blog. The tamoxi-tummy can be insidious. Good luck to you too. I think I need it to get out the holiday mind set.

    Like

Leave a Reply

