More on Bones

dog-613926_640

I’ve just come back from doing some sprint intervals at the local oval. Now, in the past, I would have been hobbling from Achilles tendon pain after a workout like that, but today I’m fine. So what gives?

Well, it might be because my achilles are strapped with Rock Tape, something I’ve been doing for awhile now, or it might because I drink bone broth every day, or it might be that the softer bed (which I’ve mentioned before) has finally allowed my achilles to heal, or maybe it’s a combination of all three.

achiles
My daughter’s Achille’s, strapped for running.

Estrogen, it seems, affects the health of joints by various mechanisms. That’s why osteoarthritis is much more common among post menopausal women. Presumably that’s also why Girls on Tamoxifen are likely to complain of joint pain, and that’s why I drink bone broth.

The theory behind bone broth (see The Bone Broth Band Wagon) is that bones are made of, well, bones, and all the interconnecting tissue, and that by drinking an infusion of bones you supply your body with all the ingredients to make them. Hopefully, even in the absence of estrogen, my body will find a way to turn that boney goodness into healthy joints and so, today, I thought I would share my Bone Broth Recipe while the pressure cooker merrily fizzes away in the back ground.

Ingredients

  • 1 fresh ham hock
  • 1 carrot
  • 1 celery stick
  • 1 onion
  • 6 peppercorns
  • 100g miso paste

Method

  • Fling the ham hock, diced vegetables and peppercorns into the pressure cooker. Fill with water to the maximum mark and close the lid.
  • Cook at high pressure for 50 minutes.
  • Allow to cool and strain into a large saucepan.
  • Put the saucepan in the fridge, feed the meat off the bone to the caveman husband, put the bones in a compostable bag in the freezer until the green rubbish collection day and compost the vegetables.
  • When the broth has set like jelly, scrape the fat off the top.
  • But the saucepan on the stove and melt the broth. Add the miso by pushing it through a sieve.

I then freeze the broth in silicone patty pans and defrost some every day.

The miso adds 400mg of sodium per 200ml serve which is 1/4 of the RDI (yikes!) but the only other major source of sodium in my diet is the slice of sprouted rye bread I eat, which has about 130mg per serve.

Now then.. the weigh in. After writing last weeks entry I took an NSAID, the kind that you only take once a day called meloxicam. Unbeknownst to me, this drug interferes with kidney function, which caused me to retain water. My weight shot up by 1kg and I had a wibbly wobbly inverted bowl of jelly on my tummy most of the week, but today that has gone and my weight is back to 54.5kg, a tad less than before the migraine. Just another example of something other than calories that can affect your weight, I guess.

So tell me, do you suffer from joint and tendon pain post Tamoxifen? Do you have strategies to deal with it?

 

2 thoughts on “More on Bones

  1. Janet Plummer April 3, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    I have only recently started to suffer slight hip joint soreness in the past 5-6 weeks which I’m assuming is due to doing lots of running. Although I’ve been running for about three years now and been post menopausal for four so I’m not sure why this joint soreness has kicked in just now. I’ve started taking a glucosmine/curcumin (tumeric) supplement which is designed to help. But haven’t really noticed any improvement so far to be honest. I might give this bone broth a try. Will have to invest in a pressure cooker first though.

    Like

  2. chibipink April 4, 2017 / 11:42 am

    Well bone broth is a lot tastier than glucosamine :), which BTW, has a terrible effect on my digestive system. Concrete! We have a lovely podiatrist who is very helpful with all things leg related.

    Like

Leave a Reply

